Elvis Makes Bagels (New York Style)

elvis bagel

Bagels, he said.

Lender’s?

Nooooo. I mean a real one, like we used to get when I was a kid, living on the mean streets, a real New Yawk Bagel.

I made them this weekend, boiled and hand wrapped because my life is dull and I though that hand wrapping some dough would add meaning to it. The existence of days, while making bagels, and listening to “Car Talk” on NPR (I hate a man who laughs at his own joke-especially when they’re not at all funny.)

Tell me about it, Elvis said.

I really didn’t grow up on the mean streets, more like suburbia, but in those ancient days there were bagel shops galore, and they all seemed to make them the old way. Now I’m not so sure; haven’t had a good one in years. I used bread dough (3 cups) salt, a tablespoon of sugar, and of course yeast (2 teaspoons), let the dough rise, and then wrap them around your hand. I don’t have anything high tech like a fancy mixer so it’s all brute strength…

Boil these bad boys for about 45 seconds on each side and let them rest for about 10 minutes. In the oven they go and about 22 minutes later at 425 degrees you have some nice bagels. Joy said ‘red ones,’ but that would be sacrilege. No additives allowed and a red bagel would be a bit weird, don’t you think?

5 responses to “Elvis Makes Bagels (New York Style)

  1. Josh here from the BlinkPack blog. I adore bagels — just tried Marx Hot Bagels in Cincinnati, and it was phenomenal. I wish you all the best with your blogging. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

