Japanese Milk Bread (Thailand)

milk bread2I like all kinds of bread, but as I mentioned before, it sure is hard getting a real good loaf of bread in Thailand. I had some extra time this weekend and figured I’d try something new–always up for experimenting I made the family some Japanese Milk Bread, from a recipe by another blogger, someone from of all places Montana. Not that I have anything against this great state, but I figured that the recipe I used would come from someone living at least in my own backyard.

Having checked out several recipes this one is pretty true to the many others. I don’t really know why I picked this one over the other equally good recipes–maybe because it was in both cups and grams. I have no idea.

Let’s just say this worked out very well, and from the pictures it looks pretty much like all of the other milk bread recipes, soft on the inside, and a nice brown crust on top.

My wife liked it, and she’s not really much of a bread eater, calling it ‘food for foreigners’ which i guess technically it is.

I’m feeling a bit lost for words today–nothing smart assed to say today about the country that I live in. It’s the new me, self censorship, trying very hard to place a filter between what I think and what I write, like a big thick piece of delicious milk bread, covered in nice sweet butter, yum, my mouth is full I can’t speak and my brain is busy making my mouth move, usually an automatic response, but today it doesn’t seem to be working, chew, chew, chew, don’t think so much, just chew.

Yes, yes, don’t forget to take those two pink pills, one in the morning and one at night before going to bed, remember the scolding you got from your wife for bad mouthing her country, fearing a giant milk bread loaf dropped on your head from some unseen force. Enough, just eat, chew man, chew!!

Anyway, enough crazy talk. This is a good recipe and you can find it here.  I guess what makes this bread so good is that I used the tangzhong method, which, if you don’t already know is a flour and water roux which gives the bread its softness and staying power. Yes, it stays soft for a few more days then your traditional home made bread does.

milk bread

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

