Sourdough Biscuits (Thailand), Made with Sourdough Starter

sourdough biscuit2I’m still working with my sourdough starter. After a month or so it’s still going strong and now that it’s in the refrigerator I usually feed it 1 or 2 times a week. I usually throw a half cup of flour and a half cup of water by weight. So figure about a half cup of flour and a bit less of the water. Since I got into the habit of measuring everything in grams, it’s pretty easy. I just throw both the flour and the water on my scale (not at the same time of course) and go from there.

It’s not hard to keep your starter going. There has been times over the last six weeks where i neglected my starter, but feeding it again, more than one time a day sometimes, really gets it going. Since I am in Thailand and my kitchen is hot. I just feed it and leave it out on the counter for about 3 hours. Then I place it back in the fridge.

Next steep will be drying some and trying to share it with other bread making enthusiasts here. Not sure how many make their own starter, and in a big city like Chiang Mai I am sure there are few of us oddballs.

The other day I made some sourdough biscuits, using the starter that I have. So much of it I’m trying to do something other then bread. I lived in the south for a time and I miss a good biscuit.

So below you will find the recipe that I used. I took out some of the salt, just a bit dubious of a recipe that uses a whole teaspoon, so I cut it in half. I also used a cold starter–right from the fridge and it worked well. They were good–and like I said I miss a good biscuit.

Sourdough Biscuits

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 1/2 cup flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 cup well fed starter (cold is OK)

1/4 cup yogurt

1/4 milk

113 grams unsalted butter (1/2 cup butter cold)

I mixed all the dry ingredients together than mixed my milk and yogurt in a small bowl. I cut my butter into the flour then added the wet stuff, the starter was added last. Fairly simple, then mixed it into a nice dough, kneaded it a few times and rolled it out on my table, then cut them with a biscuit cutter. Baking time is about 15 minutes at 425F (205 c–roughly).

Enjoy!

One response to “Sourdough Biscuits (Thailand), Made with Sourdough Starter

Leave a Reply

