Tangzhong Recipe, Japanese Style Sweet Buns (Thailand)

japanese bunsGood stuff this Tangzhong. I think i know how it works. It makes bread delicious, soft, sweet, amazing, that’s how. Chemistry at its best and most efficient, bread making so simple an idiot like me can do it. Remember I’m no snob, and I like this pedestrian stuff, simple, efficient, an unassuming little loaf of sweetness. Yes, this is unpretentious– and ass kicking good. I didn’t even have to think much about it, or worry about all that fancy bread lingo that’s been giving me fits of late.

I stuffed it with cream cheese–and so much the better that I got it for free. So when you get something for free in these parts, and on my salary, you use it for all it’s worth. I just beat the cream cheese with a little sugar, and 180 grams of the cheese and 45 grams of sugar and i stuffed these bad boys with it.

Regular Japanese Pan uses custard, but like I said free is free so the substitution didn’t bother me, and I actually prefer using the cream cheese because it’s easier and I am an incredibly lazy man.

So hail to thee Japanese Milk Bread, you are as we American’s say AWESOME. I even decided to share the wealth so I’m bringing them to work tomorrow, my fellow under paid and under appreciated English Teacher deserve it, just as they deserve that Friday night beer.

Sweet Bun Dough

2 cups bread flour
1 cup all purpose flour
4 TBS sugar
1/2 tsp table salt (original uses 1 tsp)
1 egg, at room temp.
1/2 cup milk, warm
1/2(scant) cup Tangzhong (use half of the Tangzhong you make from above)
2 tsp instant yeast
4 TBS butter
1/3 cup bread flour (for Tangzhong)
1 cup water (for Tangzhong)
tangzhong bun
Make sure your Tangzhong is on the cool side before you mix it with the other stuff. I usually mix all my dry ingredients together than add my milk, egg, and Tangzhong. When the dough comes together you can fold in your butter (softened), and then knead for 10 minutes. I find that the added butter makes kneading pretty easy. You’ll get a nice silky ball of dough, and then let it rise for about an hour. Shape your dough balls into about 85 grams and then let them rest for 10 minutes. You can fill them by flattening the dough and then folding it over the cream cheese (cooled) and then pinch the bottoms sealing them real good. Let them rise about 40 minutes then cover them with an egg wash. Bake for 15 minutes at 175c until golden brown. When cooled cover with a bit of powdered sugar. Then eat.
Leave a Reply

