Red Elvis Recipe, Bacon Cheese & Chive Savory Potato Muffin (Thailand)

cheese potato bacoMaybe the muffins are getting old. Maybe.

…But then again there is a million things you can do with a muffin. That much is true. Anyway, I work all day and I don’t have a fancy kitchen. If you saw it you’d laugh. Really.

It’s got no counters, or shelves, or anything really. It’s a brick room, with a sink, and a really sad looking oven I wrestled from my wife, who is a lousy baker.

Haaa, she laughs when I say that but I mean it. She does many things well, but baking isn’t one of them…

Back to muffins, sweet or savory, and this week I choose savory, and looked at many recipes, and I actually made this one. No it’s not really mine. I’m not the Christopher Columbus of the muffin. I didn’t discovery it, but like Dr. Frankenstein, I created it from many different kinds of muffins.

I made some changes and some modifications. I like to use coconut oil, I get free cheese from work (not what you think). I use a brand of yogurt that they sell here in Thailand that is about the best you can get. I switched from using one egg, to two, not because I’m greedy, I just think it makes a better muffin…

When I get home from work I am tired. I teach and the kids can get to me. I like them, I really do, but speaking English (and teaching it) to kids who have very little interest in learning it gets a bit silly after awhile–I need a diversion, and since I hate TV, and don’t play video games, or waste my time on Facebook or Twitter, I cook…

I’ll grow out of my muffin phase, but in the meantime I learned a lot about how to make them, which is good, because they keep getting better.

cheese potato baco2So this is my recipe. Feel free to use it, modify it, or add your own twist to it. It got a big thumbs up at work…

Bacon Cheese Chive Savory Potato Muffins

3 rashers of bacon

1 medium potato (peeled and grated)

1 2/3 cup flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 cup shredded cheddar

3 tablespoons chopped chives

1/3 cup oil

2 eggs

1/4 cup yogurt

1/4 cup milk + 2 tablespoons

1/4 tsp. salt

1,) Mix all the dry ingredients, and then your potatoes (try to squeeze all the water out of them), and the cheese as well. Mix it all up well. The bacon should be crisp and broken into small pieces. Throw it all in!

2.) Mix egg, yogurt, milk, chopped chives, and add to the flour bacon potato mixture.

3.) Mix until it comes together. If you need more milk add the two tablespoons.

4.) Place in fancy or unfancy cups.

5.) 400 degrees (190c) for about 20-22 minutes. I got seven good sized muffins.

2 responses to “Red Elvis Recipe, Bacon Cheese & Chive Savory Potato Muffin (Thailand)

Leave a Reply

