Pizza Weekend. Why Not Make Your Own (Thailand)

IMG_1980Hey I love pizza. Love it. The first thing I do when I go back home to the States is get a pizza. Pizza. I miss it, having lived in the state of one of the best pizza towns, New York, and getting some amazing pizza. Not so in Thailand. Thailand is for amazing Thai food–pizza is not Thai food, or real pizza is not, and thus it’s kind of lacking in the amazing department. That doesn’t mean you can’t get good–so I hear, but paying 300 for a pizza is not something I can do with all my millions.

So, I wanted to make my own, see how much I could save (number 1), see how good it would be (compared to Thai), and see if I could, which is more of what it’s about, actually ‘seeing’ if you can do something. I figured pizza, how hard can it be, so I ran out and bought what I needed, namely cheese, a little meat, and some sauce (in a can–how odd). So far, so good, but I’m already feeling the pinch. It’s the cheese, so damn expensive in Thailand, 120 baht for about 200 grams, enough for about one small pizza.

Now the dough–made my own, and it came out nice. Here is the recipe.

1 1/2 bread flour

1 cup all purpose flour

1 tsp yeast

about 1 1/4 cup water (warm)

2 tablespoons olive oil.

That’s it, toss it all in a bowel and start mixing, let it sit for about 20 minutes, and then knead until you know it’s done (oh you’ll know). Let it rise for about 1 hour until it’s double and then you can use right away or put in the refrigerator over night.

IMG_1983Pizza in Chiang Mai is not that cheap, maybe for a small pizza about 200-250 Baht depending on where, and the quality can vary. So making your own is an option, however bear in mind that it could get expensive as well–basic pizza with ‘good’ cheese (a high quality brand, fresh), and some real good meat, say like salami or pepperoni can be a bit pricy. So my small pizza good for two ran me about 200 baht with all the ingredients. That’s a bit much and not something I’d do every weekend, but for a treat it was worth the price. And, homemade is always better than anything you can get out at a shop, because you made it yourself

2 responses to “Pizza Weekend. Why Not Make Your Own (Thailand)

Leave a Reply

