Ham Mayo and Cheese Rolls (Tangzhong Method), Thailand

hc1Ham, mayo, cheese…what’s not to love about this combination, right? Now I associate cheese with teaching English. Why? Because once a month my school gives me a nice basket of food which includes just enough cheddar cheese to make something tasty. I can waste it in an omelette, or just eat a big hunk of cheese, but I’d rather make an amazing ham, mayo, and cheese roll…

I also get to practice my bread making skills, and use the Tangzhong method, which is a flour and water paste (1 part flour to five parts water) to make a nice soft bread. Cook it on the stove top, or as I do, in a microwave, stirring until the water flour mixture thickens. Let it cool before you use it. Cover it with plastic wrap and stick it in the fridge.

Ham, Mayo & Cheese Rolls – It’s an easy recipe, which includes…

240 grams of flour (bread)

7 grams yeast (2 1/4 teaspoon)

5 grams salt

1 egg

30 grams of sugar

50 grams of water (I used a little more)

60 grams of Tangzhong

30 grams of butter (soft)

It’s like making a cinnamon bun, just roll out your dough, place a generous amount of ham, cheese, and mayo (I use the Japanese kind), roll it up and cut it into about 12 even slices. I spray a few muffin tins, add the roll ups and let them double in size. Then I cook them for about 15-20 minutes until slightly brown on top, at about 180c…

hc6The great thing about Tangzhong, and I can’t explain why, it keeps the bread very soft. As a matter of fact, the bread seems to get softer on the second day, and the flavor really comes through…

Glorious Tangzhong, oh how I love thee. Cheese! Ham! The Japanese squeeze mayo is nice, a bit sweet, but it really works well, because you’re getting such a nice savory piece of bread–you need a little balance (yeah, sure). This is really one of my favorite recipes, not the easiest thing in the world to make, but worth it. You can put the cheese on the inside (as I do), or you can sprinkle it on top before you cook it..

Either way, it’s great! And Joy likes them too, nearly 5 month pregnant, so she’s eating for two.

hc3hc5

One response to “Ham Mayo and Cheese Rolls (Tangzhong Method), Thailand

Leave a Reply

