Joy’s Chewy Double Chocolate Cookies (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

ccc2We’ve been messing around with the cookie of late, which makes me think about how much butter we consume. I mean, a chocolate chip recipe (minimum) has about what, 2 sticks of butter, 1 stick, 3/4 holy cow! That’s a lot of butter, and butter is pretty expensive. When I throw a hunk of butter on my scale and measure out like 130 grams or more I feel a heart attack coming on…

Then you eat all those cookies, or hopefully give some away and let other people feel the love, or get a heart attack, or whatever.

Hey I’m thinking coconut oil…

ccc6I mean, not only does Thailand have tons of coconuts, but it also has a fare amount of oil? So can you substitute oil for butter–even coconut oil for butter, well you surely can. Does it make for a healthier cookie? Well, the jury is still out on that (trans fat), and checking the Internet some people think coconut oil is the best stuff on earth, and others just think it’s another oil, and some even think its bad for you.

When I do look at my coconut oil it certainly doesn’t look that good. I mean, it just sits in a bag and looks like, well…lard, a big hunk of white grease, like Crisco. Hard oil, butter, nothing as tasty as the good stuff..but what if…?

So we made some cookies using this very simple recipe, and our very cheap and abundant coconut oil.

Soft Double Chocolate Cookies (Butter Free)

1/2 cup coconut oil

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup cake flour

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup (plus) chocolate chips

Beat the oil and sugar (2), then add the eggs and vanilla. In a separate bowl combine the dry ingredients. Stir in egg oil mixture, then fold in the chips. Bake for about 10 minutes at 375 (180c). Easy!

It’s a real basic cookie recipe and the results are pretty good. They are very soft and cake-like, and I don’t even really miss the butter flavor. So coconut oil or butter? For me it makes no difference, though when making a plain chocolate chip recipe I’d rather use butter. I don’t taste the coconut oil, which is probably because there’s so much chocolate in these cookies…But, I’m not tossing my butter just yet.

This recipe makes a big batch of cookies, at least 24. Just spoon out the dough and place them on a greased cookie sheet for about 10 minutes at 375 degrees (180c).

ccc5ccc4

Leave a Reply

