A Muffin That May Be Good For You, Oatmeal Raisin Nut (Thailand)

oatm1Well maybe. I’m joking a bit, because anything with butter isn’t really that good for you, right?

But it certainly gives you the appearance of actually being healthy because of the ingredients, oatmeal, wheat flour, raisins, and walnuts…but come on, who am I trying to kid, muffins can’t be healthy, because they taste just too good…

I kind of winged this one. I can’t say I’m actually the inventor of these, because that would be a lie. And I hate to lie. I just can’t, my face gives it away, and my body language, and even my writing…so call me what you want but a liar I’m not…

So my wife and I have gotten really into cookies. She’s pregnant, so she needs something to do since everyone tells her here in Thailand that if she leaves the house she may just have the baby on the road somewhere. So I suggested oatmeal cookies and she made a bunch and everyone loved them. I just can’t eat cookies for breakfast so I searched the web looking for something like an ‘oatmeal cookie’ muffin and actually found a few. They just didn’t hit me, none of them, too cookie like–some actually looked like cookies, but most where just muffins with the cookie name attached–and a few even had chocolate chips in them, which i thought a bit excessive…

Here’s what I decided on (the recipe)…a mixture of several that I liked.

113 grams butter

1 1/2 cup flour (I used a pastry type flour)

2 t baking powder, and 1 t baking soda

3/4 t salt

1 t cinnamon

1 cup instant oats

2 eggs

3/4 cup milk

1 cup brown sugar (could use more)

1 1/2 t vanilla

and 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup walnuts

The basic dry into wet. I did use melted butter, and mixed with the milk, eggs, vanilla, and brown sugar. Then I added all the dry, the raisins and walnuts go in as well, and mixed them just enough to hold together. I hate gummy muffins!

oatm3They’re not bad. They certainly look healthy. The one thing I would change would be the butter. I would use corn oil (or palm oil). Yes, I can not tell a lie. I think the oil would make them a bit more moist. I like butter, but I think that oil makes a tastier muffin. I wouldn’t call them dry. I just think with the oatmeal you could use a little bit more fat…and not the butter kind.

And I hate bran muffins, so this is a good middle ground, healthy but not that healthy…Who cares anyway, just give it a try. For those who just can’t bring themselves to eat cookies for breakfast it’s a step in the right direction.

 

Leave a Reply

