Nutella Swirl Muffin, Peanut Butter & Banana (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

nsw1We’ve got Nutella hanging around the house. It’s still there after two weeks, though my wife has taken a good chunk out of it. She likes to eat it on pretty much anything. It’s a novelty for her, and me as well–this is the first time I’ve eaten Nutella, and I must say it’s pretty good. Last week I made a nice stuffed Muffin–stuffed it with Nutella, and you would have thought I’d had enough with the muffin…

Not so fast, a new muffin, a muffin with Nutella, peanut butter, and banana just came out of the oven. It looks great, and by the time I finish this post (I’m slow today) I will have tasted it. It looks great, kind of funky looking with the swirls of Nutella popping out of the top..

I did this recipe myself. Its a mix of two different recipes, and I kind of tossed in a few things and added and subtracted. I like to read about food science, and though I am kind of simple when it comes to this (science) I like a moist muffin, so I’ll do all I can to make the best, most moist muffin possible. This one has no oil in it, or butter (that’s crazy).nsw3 Yogurt and milk instead, and two very large ripe bananas that I crushed up with a fork…Let’s not forget the peanut butter, just any old kind you have. Hey, if its organic and natural that’s all the better…

Here is is, the Red Elvis version.

Nutella Peanut Butter and Banana Swirl Muffin

2 cups flour

2/3 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup yogurt

2 eggs

1/4 cup milk

1/2 cup peanut butter

2 teaspoons vanilla

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 large bananas (very ripe)

I tasted these bad boys and they are very good. They are as suspected super-moist. A funny thing, when I mixed the egg and peanut butter together, after a bit of mixing with a whisk it turned into a thick batter–almost looked like pancake batter. After that, I added the yogurt, milk, and vanilla. I then added all the dry ingredients (flour, salt, baking soda, powder, and brown sugar), and the crushed up banana. I mixed just enough to coat the dry with the wet, and then scooped the batter into small muffin cups, added some Nutella and then swirled them with a toothpick…

nsw2Yummy. Hey, if I can say so these are pretty damn good. They’re better then my stuffed muffins, which in my opinion were a bit dry. I think it’s the banana, or maybe the peanut butter. No, it’s the brown sugar–I’m sure of it, or the yogurt. Hey, not sure why, but these are good. I just ate another, and I will save a few and give them to my friends at work tomorrow.

So that’s it with the Nutella. It’s gone, and I’ll miss it. But the price is to high for the teacher salary I am on, and soon we’ll have another mouth to feed.

I’ll miss you Nutella.

 

4 responses to “Nutella Swirl Muffin, Peanut Butter & Banana (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

Leave a Reply

