Cream Cheese Stuffed Pumpkin Spice Muffin (Thailand)

pm4A few days into Songkran and my wife and I have been watching the festivities from a distance, me on the couch and her sitting next to me on her chair. It looks like Tha Pae Gate is full of rowdy Thai kids and foreigners enjoying themselves. Water everywhere, not my scene really. I hope they’re enjoy themselves, and the rest of Thailand looks quite civilized, families at the beach, temple celebrations, lots of picnics, you know stuff that Thai’s do even when there isn’t a holiday involving throwing water over someones head…

I’m tired already, I want to leave my house and not get wet. But, in a way, I’m looking at the upside of things. I get to practice my cooking. Today I decided on a stuffed muffin. Sounds good, right? How about a pumpkin muffin? Thailand has some pretty nice pumpkins, and I can spice it up, and stuff it with cream cheese.

pm1So, that’s what I did, after i got my hands on a pumpkin from the local Bic C. It looks a bit strange, not much like the pumpkins at home. I would call this more of a gourd, then a pumpkin. So, I had to cook it. I steamed it, and then mashed it up–can’t get the canned pumpkins around here, maybe you can–but not wanting to get myself wet, for the sake of a pumpkin, I figured I take the easy route. Big C.

The recipe is below. A nice moist muffin with plenty of spice, and a nice hunk of sweet cream cheese when you bite into it. If I ain’t leaving the house, I’m going to eat well.

Cream Cheese Stuffed Pumpkin Spice Muffin 2 cups flour, ½ teaspoon baking soda, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, ½ teaspoon nutmeg, ¼ teaspoon salt, 1 cup pumpkin (I used fresh pumpkin steamed until soft), ¼ cup sugar. ¼ cup brown sugar. ¼ cup oil. ¾ cup milk. 1 egg. ¾ teaspoon vanilla

For stuffing 130 gram of cream cheese, 3 tablespoons powdered sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla

  • Sift your flour, baking soda, and baking powder. Add the salt, the nutmeg, and the cinnamon. Then mix in your sugar.
  • Mix the wet ingredients, oil, milk, one egg, pumpkin, and vanilla.
  • Combine wet and dry, just enough to hold together.
  • Combine cheese, sugar, and vanilla, mix with beater until it all comes together.
  • Fill muffin cups half full, then add a tablespoon of the cheese mixture, cover with the rest of the muffin mix.
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes.

I changed the original recipe a bit. I often do that. Why? Because if something works previously, I’m more inclined to use the same basic ingredients. So I can pretty much verify that this does indeed work. So if you’re so inclined go run and get yourself a pumpkin, and if you’re in Thailand bring along your rain gear, or an umbrella.

pm2pm3

2 responses to “Cream Cheese Stuffed Pumpkin Spice Muffin (Thailand)

Leave a Reply

