Making Quick Bread, Try a Scone (Thailand) Walnut & Chocolate Chip

scone3Back to school soon. I don’t have much time. I’m trying to make every day count. I’m not very successful at it–time management. I sleep to 11, lounge around on the couch, and my wife calls me Mr. Computer. Yes, I’m very lazy these days. The main reason, it’s very very hot here in Thailand. Brutal heat, clinging humidity, bad air, and a 100 degrees in the shade.

I wanted to make something easy today so I decided on bread. Nothing fancy, too hot for baguettes, and even white bread. Muffins, I am tired of, there is only so much you can do with a muffin. How about a biscuit, or better yet–how about a scone.

I tried to explain to my wife what exactly a scone is. I said it’s like a biscuit. “What’s a biscuit?” she asked. “I don’t know, something you eat with pot roast.” I showed her a picture, and then she understood…

They don’t eat biscuits or scones in Thailand. So, that was reason enough to make them, and I find it fun to mix up all this stuff, and the dough feels like pastry dough, and it’s got pieces of walnuts and chocolate chips in it, and I can use one of my fancy biscuit cutters–or scone cutters, or whatever…

scone4Here is my recipe:

2 cups (280 grams) all purpose flour
1/4 cup (50 grams) granulated white sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (113 grams) (1 stick) unsalted butter cold and cut into pieces
1/3 cup (60 grams) semi sweet chocolate chips or chunks
1/2 cup (50 grams) toasted and chopped walnuts
2/3 cup (160 ml) sour cream mixed with 2 tablespoons milk
2 tablespoons honey
1 egg for egg wash

Before you bake your scones you can cut them however you want–I like them round, but you can cut them more traditional, say a triangle, or even a square. (18-20 minutes, 200 c)

I just ate two and they were pretty good. So I can vouch for the recipe (it works!). It’s very quick to make, just make sure your butter is very cold, and your milk and sour cream as well. I stick my butter in the freezer for about 30 minutes then use my fancy pastry cutter for a crumb like texture. They’re very easy, and you can make them in the morning and enjoy them warm, or have them as a snack …

Good stuff

scone2

Leave a Reply

