Durian Rolls, It’s That Time of Year Again (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

durian roll 2Durian gets a bad rap. It doesn’t smell that bad. As a matter of fact I kind of like the smell. If you’ve done any traveling around these parts you’ve probably seen all the anti Durian signs, (No DURIAN) or the picture of that cool spikey looking fruits with a big red slash through it.

Well, I’m here to tell you I’ve never had a bad Durian experience, no smelly hotel rooms, people feasting on it during long distant bus rides, nothing negative at all. I think it’s all a myth, though those new to Asia probably have a Durian story passed down, and down until it becomes a national tragedy or perhaps part of their own travel drama.

durianYes, it’s that time of year again. Get ready Durian is back…

Last night, under the cover of darkness, I sent my wife on a Durian run. The man near the house is selling it, and I told her “you better go get some before he runs out.” This is for us, not for bus rides, or hotels rooms–who cares if it smell up my own house, so under the cloak of darkness it was delivered and deposited in the refrigerator. “Better cover it good,” I warned my wife, not so it smells up the house, so it stays good though the night–though we did munch on a big hunk about midnight, and none of the neighbors complained…

durian roll 3This morning I got up early, nothing sinister about that, I always get up early, and prepared my Durian, a cup or so, because I planned on making some of these delicious Durian rolls. They’re like a cinnamon roll, but better, or more Asian, cinnamon rolls are quite dull, but these are not at all dull…

With me so far? Good.

It was still there, and my wife, in her nocturnal wanderings through the kitchen while I’m fast asleep, had not even moved it. I tore off a few big hunks, and then a few more, looking for the best pieces, and started the rolls. It’s a recipe I got from the Internet, but the one I made at first (last year) failed miserably, so I decided to change it up a bit–a little less sugar, a few dashes less coconut milk, so the Durian mash was a bit easier to work with (refrigerating it helped as well)…

durian roll 1Make them like your basic cinnamon roll, except use the Durian, 3 tablespoons of coconut milk, 3 tablespoons of sugar, and a half teaspoon of salt. Mix it as much as you can, and then pop it back in the fridge for about 30 minutes so that it is less runny…

Prepare the roll, 12×15 is good, brush with butter, and then the Durian mixture, and be very generous with the brown sugar (says a cup–but lets not get crazy, you want to taste the Durian, right?)…

20-25 minutes at 180 until it is golden and then brush with some melted butter. Great! Enjoy the Durian…

 

 

 

3 responses to “Durian Rolls, It’s That Time of Year Again (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

  1. Omg.. I have never had those durian rolls, but they look amazing. I cannot say no to fresh durian either. We only get them frozen here in Vancouver unfortunately.

    • They’re awesome. I just ate another. Sorry you can’t get them in Vancouver! Bummer. We are just starting the season here, and they taste great (sorry for that). Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

