Durian Muffins, The King of Fruits (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

durian muffin 3We got Durian in the house again today. My request, because my wife claims it makes our new baby cry at night.

Maybe it’s just the night and she gets lonely. Maybe it’s the smell, though I don’t think it’s as bad as most people think (or claim) it is…

Maybe it’s the heat, feeling like a 105 in the house, and making the Durian a wee bit more pungent. But you said it didn’t smell! No, what I said is that I don’t think it smells that bad. Everything has a smell, right? Good, bad or somewhere in the middle of good and bad. So Durian on the smell scale is about a 5 out of 10. If it were a 10 or a 9, who the hell would eat it.

durian muffin 5I made muffins. Last time it was a roll, like a cinnamon roll, stuffed with brown sugar and Durian (cinnamon as well). This is a variation of what seems to be a very popular muffin made by lots of other blogger/foodies in Malaysia, which, if I remember correctly is sort of the epicenter of Durian–and those folks would argue (rather strongly) that the Malaysian variety is better than the Thai kind. I don’t have an opinion since I have never eaten Durian in Malaysia.

About the muffin. Pretty good, and I would say that it’s about the best I have done. I’m being my old modest self as usual, but this is…yes I would say ‘very good.’ If you like Durian.

durian muffin 2300 grams of flour, 250 grams of Durian, 50 grams of brown sugar, 100 grams of sugar, 75 grams of butter, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 3/4 cup milk (I used milk and yogurt)…

Not many ingredients, and for those who have asked about getting Durian in the States, you can, but it is frozen, or Durian pulp in some sort of tube…looks weird.

Cream the butter, white sugar, and 1/2 the Durian (I mixed mine with about 2 tablespoons of brown sugar). Add the wet ingredients, including the remaining Durian, then the dry stuff (flour and baking powder/soda). You may need a splash more milk as I did. I filled up the muffin cups about half way, then added a nice spoonful of Durian and then covered it with the rest of the batter…

durian muffin 6Bake at 180 c for about 22 minutes and enjoy. They’re real good!

3 responses to “Durian Muffins, The King of Fruits (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

Leave a Reply

