Cream Cheese Biscuits, With Butter Too (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

biscuit 8I made these quick. The biscuit, who doesn’t love it. Scone or biscuit, I think this is a true biscuit, no messing about with this one. We’re in the middle of a crisis, the baby just keeps on crying…

I told my wife I want to take her to the mountains, leave her with the Monks. She’ll like the mountains. I know I do, and I often wish that someone would deliver me to the mountains where I can live out the rest of my life growing corn, or trying my hands at coffee farming…

To be fair, it’s me who really wants to go to the mountains. Alice can stay, because she’s cute, and ours, and I guess I can put up with a bit of crying now and then. Hell, I have the solace of work, an excuse my wife doesn’t have.

I was discussing biscuits. Not just an old biscuit, but one I particularly enjoy. The biscuit which is made from both cream cheese and butter. And I’ll tell you, it’s a beautiful thing, because it’s good, and because it’s easy to make, something that I appreciate living here in Thailand, and using very few things–like pots and pans, bakeware, kitchen gadgets that you can’t get, or break after the first use.

biscuit 4Stand Mixers? Forget about them, they’re like 5 times the price of one in the USA, and they’re made by some company called “CHAMP.”

So what do you need for a biscuit–not much

1 1/2 cup APF and Cake flour, 1 tablespoon baking powder. 3/4 teaspoons baking soda, 3/4 teaspoons salt, 4 oz cream cream, and the same of butter–a cup of milk and a dash more, and I almost forgot, sugar (1 Tablespoon). This all goes into a mess like dough which is rolled out and cut–very simple.

These are very good biscuits, and I figure during my life on the mountain I can live on these and maybe some oranges. That sounds nice. It was after 10pm when I finished them, since I do things on impulse really. Making thing while my wife is asleep, playing some music or listening to a Podcast, and then I eat.

biscuit 3Bake them at about 200 c or higher. Preheat your pan so the biscuit gets a jolt of heat when you throw them on the hot pan. Bake for about 12-15 minutes until nice and brown on top. Enjoy.

biscuit 6

One response to “Cream Cheese Biscuits, With Butter Too (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

Leave a Reply

