Cinnamon & Walnut Roll UPS (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

c-rolls3Fantan bread is a pretty ridiculous concept. Make some bread dough (a sweet egg type), cut it into strips and then squares and make a ‘fan’ shape out of it and bake it in a muffin tray…

I can’t believe I’m even writing this–it sounds pretty stupid, fan bread, so named because you make it into a fan before you bake it. It’s a glorified dinner roll, so named to impress your friends. Couldn’t the person who invented it come up with a better name? I mean, come on now-fan bread…

So, OK, just trying to rationalize spending all this time to make some fan bread. I did, took me awhile, but I’m not doing much these days, ruminating on the state of my life, looking for a better job, trying to figure out where it all went wrong, or right…It’s tough.

c-rolls2OK, so these are really cinnamon rolls, which I really like, and since I’m far away from a Cinnabon, or even a half way decent ‘roll’ made here in Chiang Mai, I got to do it myself. While I’m ruminating, I’m cooking, because I here it’s good therapy, and I’m trying to take my mind off lots of things…

Now if I can teach the Thai’s to make them, and make them well, or close enough, I may even make–oh, I’d say and extra 30 dollars a month. With that said, I will continue to make them for me, and my wife, and soon, the baby, when she has some teeth.

c-rolls6Fantan, ridiculous, but cinnamon rolls placed on their ‘sides’ are kind of like Fantan bread, but much better, and surprisingly easy to make. I mean, you would think all the cinnamon stuff would fall out, but it doesn’t. Maybe because I made a ‘mash’ of walnuts, sugar, and cinnamon in my mortar (and crushed it all with my ‘pestle’), a kind of walnut sugar & cinnamon paste, which on its own was pretty damn tasty.

Actually, I must admit, things aren’t that bad, especially now, that I’m eating this…

c-rolls5Basic FANTAN bread recipe is:

2 1/2 cups of flours, 1/4 cup sugar, 1 egg, 1/2 cup milk, 2 1/4 teaspoons yeast, 1/2 teaspoon of salt–and you can throw in a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla…Don’t forget the butter, 1/4 cup (56 grams) melted…

 

2 responses to “Cinnamon & Walnut Roll UPS (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

  1. Really all the dishes are wonderful!! On our trip to Thailand we had learnt some very delicious dishes!! And the people are so amazing!! The hotel in which we were staying……all their chefs were from Chiang Mai and those girls taught my mom some fabulous dishes 🙂
    All the food you mentioned here also look quite delicious 😀 We also taught them some Indian dishes, specially fish with yoghurt;)
    Best wishes!!

Leave a Reply

